Le Tour de Filipinas in Legazpi City to boost sports tourism 

Le Tour de Filipinas 2018

LEGAZPI CITY, May 29 (PIA) — Five local teams and ten international teams will compete in the 2019 Le Tour de Filipinas, with the final race to be capped off in Legazpi City.

“Le Tour de Filipinas is one of the most exciting bicycle competitions that will give more enjoyment and satisfaction to all the different foreign and local tourists including those sports cycling enthusiasts,” city mayor Noel Rosal said.

Rosal expressed optimism for sporting events to further boost tourist arrivals in this city.

“Any sporting event like Le Tour de Filipinas is one way of improving the sports tourism to showcase some idyllic places and infrastructure development. That will surely promote the city’s tourist destinations,” Rosal said.

The city’s chief executive cited different sporting events hosted by Legazpi City for the past years, which contributed to huge number of tourist arrivals in the booming tourism industry of the city.

These events include the yearly Mayon Triathlon, Dragon Boat race, National Beach Volleyball competition, Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) games, mountain bike race and other sports.

Rosal stressed on the advantage of having scenic spots and exciting trails in Legazpi City, making it the favorite venue for local and foreign sporting events.

READ:  Tarlac city mayor highlights role of S&T in improving people’s lives

“Legazpi was included already at the map of the World Tourism Industry as the favorite venue for any kind of sporting events because of the well paved concreted road to ensure safety of the cyclists, as well as the perfect ambiance at the Southern Boulevard in front of the Albay gulf and of course, the perfect cone of Mayon Volcano,” the chief executive added.

The Le Tour de Filipinas 10th Edition will be held on June 14 – 18, 2019 with five stages.

The 1st stage, happening on June 14, will start with several climbs in Tagaytay City while the 2nd stage on June 15 will be a race from Pagbilao Quezon to Daet Camarines Norte.

The third and longest stage on June 16 is a 183.70 km race from Daet to Legazpi City. Another 176km will be a chase from Legazpi City via Sorsogon and Gubat then back to Legazpi.

The final race on June 18 will be out and back in Legazpi City via Donsol, Sorsogon.

Winners in the Le Tour de Filipinas, dubbed as the longest road race in the Philippines, will qualify for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.(SAA/EAS-PIA5/Albay)


Source: PIA Feed