PDEA-1 establishes inter-agency committee vs illegal drugs


SAN FERNANDO CITY, Sept. 27 (PIA) — The Philippine Drug Enforcement Agency (PDEA-1) regional office established the Regional Inter-Agency Coordinating Committee on Anti-Illegal Drugs (RICG) on Sept. 5.

With the aim to integrate efforts and strengthen the partnership of all stakeholders to prevent the proliferation of illegal drugs in the region, PDEA-1 called on the committee’s first meeting inviting the different national government agencies (NGAs) and representatives from the local government units (LGUs).

PDEA ESTABLISHES RICG – Representatives from the different national government agencies (NGAs) attended the 1st Regional Inter-Agency Coordinating Committee on Anti-Illegal Drugs (RICG) on 05 September 2018 held at the Diego Silang Hall, Provincial Capitol in San Fernando City, La Union. (AHFF/PIA-1)

As stated in Resolution No. 01 Series of 2018, the RICG’s functions are to facilitate and integrate the efforts among the member agencies and ensure a unified direction of all activities pursuant to the objectives of the Inter-Agency Committee on Anti-Illegal Drugs (ICAD) or Executive Order No. 15 signed by President Rodrigo R. Duterte on March 6, 2017.

“This committee will ensure the implementation of the Barangay Drug Clearing Program or the BDCP,” said PDEA-1 assistant regional director Atty. Marvin O. Tavares during the meeting.

He said the committee will also serve as a forum for dialogues and coordination among the enforcement agencies of the anti-drug law and shall prepare and submit recommendations for the consideration or implementation of basic strategies and plans of the BDCP.

“We will provide and regularly update our stakeholders on the current drug situation in the region and other developments of the ICAD program,” Tavares added.

READ:  Baroy fisherfolks receive patrol boats, motorized banca

The RICG is chaired by the PDEA and has 25 member agencies such as the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP), Bureau of Jail Management and Penology (BJMP), Philippine National Police (PNP), Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), Department of Justice –National Prosecution Service (DOJ-NPS), National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA), National Bureau of Investigation (NBI), Parole and Probation Administration (PPA), and Public Attorney’s Office (PAO) for the enforcement and justice cluster.

Moreover, also included as members for the advocacy cluster include are the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), Philippine Information Agency (PIA), Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Agriculture (DA), Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA), Philippine Ports Authority (PPA), and the Department of Health (DOH).

While the Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), Philippine Postal Corporation (PhilPost), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA), Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Department of Budget and Management (DBM), and the Department of Education (DepEd) are under the rehabilitation and reintegration cluster.

Other agencies may be invited by the RICG if deemed necessary.

The signing of the resolution by Regional Director Bryan B Babang and approval of the committee was held at the Diego Hall of the Provincial Capitol. (JNPD/AHFF/PIA-1)

Source: PIA Feed